You are here: Home Listings Events By Genre Details - Major Love album release party with guests
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

L.A. Beat

EMail Print

Events By Genre


Major Love album release party with guests
Fri, Oct 19


Time; 9 p.m./
Cover:by donation

Major Love is releasing our debut album and we're having a party about it!

MAJOR LOVE is the moniker of Canadian songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Colleen Brown - and a new album featuring members of Scenic Route To Alaska, Jesse and the Dandelions, Elijah Abrams, and Aaron Goldstein. From Kingston, Ontario by way of Edmonton, Alberta - they make soulful pop-rock music for their hoser friends.

With versatile songs and a voice akin to Joni Mitchell, Colleen Brown is relentlessly unafraid. In 2015 she released her 4th solo studio album ‘Direction’ - co-produced by Joel Plaskett - topping college radio charts, and touring Canada, Germany and the UK. Kerry Doole of says 'she is the rare vocalist that impresses equally on vibrant soul and quiet folk...travelling in Brown's Direction is one very pleasing trek.'

The new album 'Major Love' is the first under this new moniker, and was conceived in the lamplight of London’s Bedroom Bar during that first tour overseas. Edmonton rock trio Scenic Route To Alaska were also wrapping their first tour in Germany and the UK, promoting their newest album. The two acts found themselves on the same dimly lit stage in Shoreditch, 7000 kms from their home-town, bonding over an appreciation of vintage Harmony guitars, singalong pop/rock anthems and an affinity for the spacious, soulful recordings released on the Stax and Motown labels in the 1960’s.

An album was tracked live off the floor a month later, during a summer heatwave in Edmonton’s True North Studios with Jesse Northey (Jesse and the Dandelions) on keys and faders. Contributions from multi-instrumentalist Elijah Abrams followed, with mixes and co-production by Toronto- based pedal steel guru Aaron Goldstein, along with Kenneth Meehan (Daniel Romano) and the singalong single ‘So Good’ mixed by Brooklyn’s prodigious hit-makers Gus van Go and Werner F. The album was released on Cowboy Junkies’ imprint Latent Recordings (Warner) Aug 24, 2018. The first two singles 'Tear It Down’ and ’So Good’ have both been embraced at CBC Radio 2 and ’So Good’ is beginning to reach commercial radio audiences. The album debuted at #19 on the earshot National College Radio charts.

Two other songs from this album have also been lauded for their song-craft. ‘Motherland’ - written essentially as a love-letter to Alberta - won a province wide songwriting contest in 2015 through the ATB competition, to the tune of $10,000; and the powerful ballad ‘I Love All Of You’ was a finalist in the Unsigned Only International Songwriting Competition for 2017.

These songs thrive at the intersection between Brown’s resonant vocal expression and SRTA’s spirited to move body and soul.

'You can hear the warm frenzy of creation in the songs. Major Love wield energy with an electric bite: melodies twist catchy and Brown's pop-happy voice swoops into psychedelic undertones...Major Love have managed to propel the joy of finding — and connecting with — other Canadians abroad, and has turned it into a soundtrack for revelry’ -

Official Videos:

So Good (official video)

Toughen Up (official video)

Tear It Down (lyric video)

Live Videos:

Toughen Up (live)

Randy Newman (CBC First Play Live)

I Love All Of You (CBC First Play Live)

MAJOR LOVE is a new album - and a band of bands - featuring members of Scenic Route To Alaska, Colleen Brown, Elijah Abrams and Jesse and the Dandelions. From Edmonton, Alberta by way of Kingston, Ontario, they make soulful pop-rock music for their hoser friends.

First single in October 2017!

Major Love with The Utilities!
$10 advance The Slice/Blueprint Records
$15 at the door

MAJOR LOVE is the moniker of songwriter/musician Colleen Brown - and a new album featuring members of Scenic Route To Alaska, Jesse (and the Dandelions) Northey, Elijah Abrams (Oh Susanna) & Aaron Goldstein (Daniel Romano). From Edmonton, AB by way of Kingston, ON, they make soulful pop-rock music for their hoser friends.

In a London bar, 7000 kms from home, a bond was born between she and the boys of SRTA. Drawing equally on 1960's Motown and soulful synth-rock anthems, an album was tracked a month later during a summer heatwave, with Jesse Northey on keys and faders, mixed by Aaron Goldstein, Kenneth Meehan.

These songs thrive at the intersection between Brown’s resonant vocal expression and SRTA’s spirited swagger. The eponymous debut album will see a label release Aug 17 2018. The first single 'Tear It Down' is currently in the CBC Radio 2 Top 20 and in rotation on CBC Radio 3. Major Love is also the Sonic 102.9 Local Spotlight band for the first quarter of 2018.

Tear It Down (lyric video)


Owl Acoustic Lounge
411 3rd Ave South
T1J 0H2
Country: ca


Lethbridge, AB

Owl is Lethbridge’s newest Lounge in the same building which had Mood, Squeaky’s Pub before and O Riley’s before that. They feature live acoustic music and excellent food. 

The ONLY Gig Guide that matters
<<  February 2019  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9


Music Beat

Lights. Camera. Action.
Inside L.A. Inside

CD Reviews


Music Beat News

Art Beat News

Drama Beat News

Museum Beat News